DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver, Battery and Charger (DCD771C2)
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Set with Battery, Charger (DCD777D1)
Best Dewalt Drill Buying Guide — Black Friday Deals 2026
Are you choosing a DEWALT drill for occasional household fixes, repeat projects, or work where seeing the bit area clearly matters? Start with the package and the details that affect your routine, rather than assuming that every cordless drill listing offers the same setup. These options include two listings with a battery and charger and one tool-only listing, as well as differences in motor description, chuck details, grip, and lighting. For Black Friday, compare the exact model and package shown in the offer; the seasonal message alone does not establish a discount or tell you what is included. The guide below connects each listed feature to practical questions you can check before choosing.
DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver, Battery and Charger (DCD771C2)
Check Price on Amazon
This 20V Max XR Drill Driver is a straightforward candidate if you want a cordless drill listing that names both a battery and a charger. Its listed specifications include a 20-volt battery-powered design, a lithium-ion battery, a 0.5-inch maximum chuck size, and two speeds. Those details offer a useful starting point when you are comparing ordinary drilling tasks and deciding whether the package format suits your setup. For Black Friday, confirm that the listing you are considering is the DCD771C2 package rather than relying on a broad DEWALT drill search result.
The stated wood drilling capacity is 30 millimeters, a specification to weigh against the materials and hole sizes in your own plans. It is not a promise that this drill is the right match for every material or job; the provided details establish wood capacity, not a complete guide to performance across materials. The two-speed specification may be relevant if you want the option of two speed settings, but the record does not give their speeds. Avoid assuming a particular range when comparing it with another model.
Best Overall is the editorial label for this selection among the three featured listings, not a claim of tested superiority or a market-wide award. Its appeal here is the combination of a named battery-and-charger package with clearly stated voltage, chuck size, speed count, and wood capacity. That makes it a useful point of comparison for shoppers who want a defined package and familiar core specifications. During Black Friday, check the exact listing details and included items before deciding; this guide does not establish a promotion, price, or stock status.
Key specs
| Power source | Power Source Battery Powered |
| Voltage | Voltage 20 volts |
| Chuck size | Maximum Chuck Size 0.5 inches |
| Speeds | Number of Speeds 2 |
| Battery type | Battery Type Lithium-Ion |
| Drilling capacity in wood | Drilling Capacity Wood 30 millimeters |
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Set with Battery, Charger (DCD777D1)
Check Price on Amazon
The DCD777D1 is a 20V MAX cordless drill driver set with a battery and charger, and it is the listing marked Best Budget. That label is an editorial choice among these products, not evidence of a particular price, discount, or performance ranking. Its listed battery capacity is 2 amp-hours, and the product details describe a brushless motor as delivering more run time over brushed. If those features align with what you are comparing, use the exact listing to confirm the set and model during Black Friday rather than assuming that every offer under this name has the same contents.
The drill has a 0.5-inch chuck and two speeds. The listing also describes an ergonomic comfort grip handle that provides ideal balance and tool control. These details can help you think through how the drill may fit your routine: consider what you plan to drill, whether the stated chuck size meets your bit needs, and whether the grip description is relevant to how you hold a tool. The supplied information does not state weight, dimensions, speed ranges, or a drilling capacity, so those are details to check on the exact product listing if they matter to your decision.
A further listed feature is an LED light with a 20-second trigger-release delay, described as providing increased visibility in dimly lit spaces. That may be worth considering if your projects often take place where ambient light is limited. It is a stated feature, not a guarantee about lighting every work area. The package detail, brushless-motor description, grip, and light give this option a different decision profile from the other featured drills. Compare those specifics with your priorities, and read the Black Friday offer carefully for the model, battery, and charger details before checkout.
Key specs
| Motor | Brushless motor delivers more run time over brushed |
| Voltage | 20 volts |
| Chuck size | 0.5 inches |
| Number of speeds | 2 |
| Battery capacity | 2 amp_hours |
| Grip | Ergonomic comfort grip handle provides ideal balance and tool control |
| LED light | LED light with 20-second trigger release delay provides increased visibility in dimly lit spaces |
DEWALT 20V MAX XR® Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver (Tool Only) (DCD801B)
Check Price on Amazon
Choose this DCD801B when adjustable task lighting is high on your list. Its Best for Adjustable Task Lighting label points to a listed feature: an adjustable, three-position LED with 70 lumens and an auto-shutoff function. It is an editorial fit label based on the supplied details, not a claim that the light outperforms other drills in testing. If work areas vary in brightness, consider whether those specified lighting controls are useful to you. The listing identifies this model as tool only, so treat the battery and charger as a separate package question when comparing it for Black Friday.
The drill is described as battery powered and has a 1/2 in. metal ratcheting chuck that provides secure bit retention. Its variable-speed trigger features two settings, with no-load speeds of 0-650/0-2,000 rpm. These are concrete details to compare with your planned tasks, but they do not by themselves determine suitability for every bit, material, or application. The provided facts do not specify a battery capacity or drilling capacity, so check the exact listing for any additional information you consider necessary instead of filling those gaps with assumptions.
The DCD801B also lists an ANTI-ROTATION System that senses the tool’s rotational motion and shuts it down if the motion is excessive. TOOL CONNECT CHIP READY functionality is included, with the DEWALT chip sold separately. Those are distinct considerations: one is a stated safety-related function, while the other is readiness for a separately sold chip. Neither changes the tool-only package detail. When reviewing a Black Friday offer, verify the model, included items, and any separate accessory needs. This option may suit someone whose decision centers on the specified light, while the chuck and other listed functions provide additional points for comparison.
Key specs
| Power source | Power Source Battery Powered |
| Speed settings | variable speed trigger featuring 2 settings (no load 0-650/0-2,000 rpm) |
| Chuck | 1/2 in. metal ratcheting chuck that provides secure bit retention. |
| Work light | adjustable, 3-position LED featuring 70 lumens and auto-shutoff function. |
| Anti-rotation system | ANTI-ROTATION System that senses the rotational motion of the tool and shuts it down if the motion is excessive. |
| Tool Connect | TOOL CONNECT CHIP READY functionality (DEWALT chip sold separately) |
Start with the package that fits your plans
Package format is an easy detail to overlook when product names share the DEWALT drill family. The DCD771C2 listing names a battery and charger, and the DCD777D1 is described as a set with a battery and charger. The DCD801B is explicitly tool only. If you are assembling a first cordless setup, the first two package descriptions may make comparison more direct; if you already have a setup or intend to source components separately, the tool-only format may still be worth considering. The facts here do not establish battery compatibility between these listings, so check the exact product information rather than assuming components interchange.
Black Friday search results can place different configurations close together, so compare the model number and package description in the actual offer. Confirm whether the displayed listing is for DCD771C2, DCD777D1, or DCD801B, and read what the seller identifies as included. Do not treat a product image, a broad category label, or a seasonal banner as confirmation of package contents. Decide what you need before comparing offers: drill only, or a listing that names both battery and charger. That small check can help prevent a mismatch between the tool format you wanted and the one shown in the offer.
Let the work surface guide your specification check
Think about the jobs you actually expect to do, then use the stated specifications as boundaries for comparison. The DCD771C2 lists a wood drilling capacity of 30 millimeters. That gives you a wood-specific detail to consider alongside your plans, but it should not be generalized to other materials. The DCD777D1 and DCD801B facts supplied here do not provide a drilling capacity, so compare their complete listings if capacity is important to you. Missing information in this guide is not proof that a product lacks a feature; it simply means the provided details do not answer that question.
Chuck descriptions also differ in how specifically they are presented. The DCD771C2 and DCD777D1 list a 0.5-inch chuck, while the DCD801B is described with a 1/2 in. metal ratcheting chuck that provides secure bit retention. Keep each description in its given form and consider the bits and tasks you plan to use. A stated chuck size is useful for checking fit, but it does not settle every question about materials or applications. For a Black Friday comparison, put your intended work beside the exact model’s listing details and confirm any requirements that are not covered here before choosing.
Use speed and motor details as comparison points
Speed information is not equally detailed across these options. The DCD771C2 and DCD777D1 each list two speeds, without a speed range in the supplied facts. The DCD801B has a variable-speed trigger featuring two settings and states no-load speeds of 0-650/0-2,000 rpm. If exact speed figures matter to your work, that distinction may help you decide which listing to investigate further. Do not assume that the two models with a two-speed specification share the DCD801B’s stated figures; no such equivalence is provided.
The DCD777D1 is the only one of these records that describes a brushless motor, saying it delivers more run time over brushed. Its listed battery capacity is 2 amp-hours. Those points can inform a comparison, but they do not establish how long a battery will last in your particular work or how the drill compares under measured conditions. The DCD771C2 lists a lithium-ion battery, while the DCD801B facts here do not specify battery capacity or motor type. On Black Friday, treat any broader performance language in a listing as something to inspect in context and base your choice on details confirmed for the exact model.
Decide whether grip, lighting, or listed functions matter
A handle description or light may be more relevant to your routine than another specification. The DCD777D1 lists an ergonomic comfort grip handle that provides ideal balance and tool control. It also has an LED light with a 20-second trigger-release delay, described as providing increased visibility in dimly lit spaces. The DCD801B instead lists an adjustable, three-position LED with 70 lumens and auto-shutoff. Consider whether the light description matches your needs, while remembering that the supplied facts do not provide a direct comparison of illumination between the two.
Additional functions deserve their own check. The DCD801B’s ANTI-ROTATION System is described as sensing rotational motion and shutting the tool down if that motion is excessive. It is also TOOL CONNECT CHIP READY, with the DEWALT chip sold separately. If either detail matters to you, read the exact listing and consider the separate-chip qualification. The other product records do not establish whether comparable functions are present or absent, so do not infer that from this comparison. During Black Friday, separate the feature you want from the promotion language and verify it against the exact model’s details.
Make the offer earn its place on your shortlist
A seasonal label is not enough to show that an offer matches your needs. Compare the exact model, package format, and product details first; then assess the offer terms displayed for that listing. This guide does not confirm active Black Friday promotions, sale prices, savings, stock, or seller policies. Avoid drawing conclusions from the model name alone, since the three featured products differ in what the records state about included items and features. If an offer page leaves an important question unanswered, use the listing’s own details to resolve it before you commit.
A practical final pass is to match the drill to your main priority. The DCD771C2 has a named battery-and-charger package and a stated wood drilling capacity. The DCD777D1 combines its named set format with a brushless-motor description, grip detail, and LED delay. The DCD801B offers specified adjustable lighting and is tool only, with other listed functions to consider. None is automatically the right choice for every shopper. For Black Friday, compare the precise variant you intend to buy and the features you will actually use, not just the broad category heading.
Keep the final comparison specific
If you are choosing between the three, write down your must-haves before returning to the offer page: whether you need a battery and charger in the package, which chuck information matters, and whether a particular light or other stated function will affect your work. Then check those needs against the product’s exact model number and listing. This keeps the comparison grounded in known details rather than assumptions about what a drill in the same range must include.
Black Friday can be a useful time to review options, but a seasonal banner does not replace a careful fit check. Choose the DCD771C2 for the combination of its stated package and wood-capacity detail, consider the DCD777D1 if its brushless-motor description and grip or light details suit your priorities, or look closely at the DCD801B if adjustable task lighting is central and tool-only is appropriate. Confirm the offer’s exact variant and included items before deciding.
Make your Black Friday choice
The right DEWALT drill is the one whose stated package and features answer your particular questions, not simply the one with the most prominent seasonal message. Check the model number, battery-and-charger status, chuck details, and any feature you consider essential. For Black Friday, confirm that the exact offer matches the listing you meant to compare; do not assume a promotion, included accessory, or compatibility detail that is not stated. With those checks complete, use the editorial labels as quick signposts and make the final decision from the specifics that matter to your work.




